WHAT IS RECKLESS DRIVING IN VIRGINIA?
In Virginia, reckless driving can be charged to numerous types of dangerous driving. Reckless driving could refer to driving at an excessive speed, passing other vehicles in a dangerous manner, racing, or driving with some alcohol in your system (even if it is an insufficient amount for a DUI citation).
Contact one of the lawyers at Jurach, Tacey, & Quitiquit to schedule a free consultation.
CAN A POLICE OFFICER ARREST ME FOR RECKLESS DRIVING?
Yes, an officer may arrest you for reckless driving, although it is not required. In most cases, as long as you’re compliant with the officer’s requests, you likely won’t be arrested for reckless driving. The lawyers at Jurach & Quitiquit suggest that even if you disagree with the officer being polite can help your case when it comes time to go to court.
CALL NOW TO SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION: 804-728-2274
HOW WILL RECKLESS DRIVING in VIRGINIA AFFECT MY DRIVING RECORD?
Reckless driving will be reported to the Virginia DMV if you are a resident of the Commonwealth and will be added to your permanent driving record. If you are from out of state it depends on whether or not your state is part of the drivers license compact. You can get a copy of your driving record here. If you are a resident of Virginia we have compiled a list of points and the length of time those points will stay on your record. You can access that list here.
HOW MUCH IS THE FINE FOR RECKLESS DRIVING IN VIRGINIA?
The law allows Reckless Driving in Virginia to carry up to a $2,500.00 fine. It is rare for the court to impose the entire amount available. The actual amount will depend on the court, the circumstances of your ticket, your driving history and whether you are able to get the charges reduced.
Remember that court costs are often added to the total fine, so you could be looking at a total cost of over $2500.00.
DOES RECKLESS DRIVING IN VIRGINIA CARRY JAIL TIME?
Reckless driving in Virginia could result in jail. Although no jail time is required, a judge may sentence you to up to 12 months in jail. It is rare to be sentenced to 12 months in jail for this kind of traffic ticket, but a judge may require a moderate amount of jail, depending on the circumstances. Usually, only excessive speeds or bad driving histories result in jail time.
The lawyers at Jurach, Tacey, & Quitiquit are familiar with our local judge’s sentencing practices regarding the possibility of jail time. Contact us today to speak about your case.