Blog

18.2-250.1

What happens if you get convicted for: Possession of Marijuana?

Possession of Marijuana

In Virginia possession of Marijuana is made illegal by VA Code §18.2-250.1.  Our lawyers have both prosecuted and defended marijuana possession cases.  .Adam Jurach, Brian Tacey, and Tony Quitiquit regularly handle misdemeanor and felony drug cases in Henrico, Hanover, Chesterfield, Richmond, and the surrounding jurisdictions.  Our experience handling drug cases helps us analyze your case.

Sometimes people say to us, it is just a possession of Marijuana do I even need a lawyer?  To that question, we always say yes.  There are many parts of a criminal case that need to be evaluated by a professional to look for potential defenses as well as advising about potential punishment.  A conviction for possession of Marijuana, or any criminal case for that matter in Virginia will permanently be on your record.  Which can cause long term problems when it comes to things like increased insurance, security clearance, and most importantly jobs.  With all of these consequences on the line you need an experienced lawyer to help you navigate the criminal justice system.

There are differing punishments depending on many factors including a the number of prior convictions, weight, and amongst others.  A first offense of possession of Marijuana is a Class I misdemeanor with punishment upon conviction consisting of imprisonment for up to 30 days and/or a fine of up to $500.  For a second or subsequent charge you are looking at imprisonment for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500 for the second and each subsequent offense. If convicted the court will revoke your license for a period of no less than 6 months. Possession of less than a half ounce of marijuana is typically charged as “simple possession”. If the police find more than one half ounce of Marijuana or if there is evidence of distribution (scales, individual baggies, etc) the Commonwealth may elect to pursue distribution charges under §18.2-248.1.

If you have been charged with Possession of Marijuana in violation of §18.2-250.1, in one of these jurisdictions, contact one of the lawyers at Jurach, Tacey & Quitiquit for a free consultation.

 

The content of this Blog/Web Site does not constitute legal advice.  Because legal advice must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case and laws are constantly changing, you should seek the assistance of licensed and competent legal counsel for specific legal advice.



Leave a Reply


Contact Jurach, Tacey & Quitiquit, PLC today at 804-728-2274
Free initial confidential consultation


Tell us about your case

Fill out the form below and we will get in touch with you as soon as possible.





captcha